Volkswagen Taos Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, looking to upgrade wheels possibly, and would like to get 19x18.5” wheels… I’m concerned about wheel/tire fitting without butting up against suspension/struts or rubbing/turning issues… Ideally I could fit a 245/45/19 tire to have a more substantial sidewall/width but in calculating it on a comparison seems to be a bit bigger than the stock 18’s and 19’s available through VW.. I know it will throw the speedometer off a bit not a huge concern… does anyone have experience here? Would a 245/45/19 tire fit ok on a Taos S 4motion? If not, maybe a 235/45/19? I’m a newbie when it comes to this..

Also, how does it work w digital TPMS (tire pressure sensors…) is that an issue? Can a shop install that in aftermarket wheels/tires… might be difficult if they’re assembled/balanced and shipped from an online retailer like tire rack, no? thanks!

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
tpms doesnt matter in your case. search for the tpms thread on here for more details
Awesome, makes a lot of sense and sounds nice and simple, phew.

Now if someone can tell me if I’m being neurotic about tire sizing or if it will be a close fit that would be great. Also, my Taos is parked in the municipal garage right now so I don’t have access.. maybe someone can measure the wheel well width for me? That would help? Google searching coming up short.

·
Registered
67 Posts
225/45 R19 92H

I need to ask why upgrade to such large rims? Or why you want to do it?

I, personally, don't like how on high trims force the large rims. Highline (SEL) includes 18". This in turn means they're more susceptible to pothole damage, home more expensive tires (and or limited tire choice) and of course, cost more to replace.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
225/45 R19 92H

I need to ask why upgrade to such large rims? Or why you want to do it?